36 High School Seniors Receive Thea Foundation Scholarships

“What it Means to Be Me” was the theme for the 2021 Thea Foundation scholarship competition, and yet again, the entries were outstanding. In spite of the many challenges students faced this year, there was a resounding theme of hope in the many entries we received.

Thea’s annual scholarships remain a great resource for helping young people across the state receive financial help for higher education. Each of the six arts-based competitions provide Arkansas seniors with an opportunity to secure funding for college based on their talent alone. Our first scholarship was awarded in 2002, and we’ve awarded more than $2.3 million in scholarships to Arkansas students since then. During the 2021 scholarship season, we again adapted our competition to be completely online to allow students to enter in a safe and fair way.

At this time, we are proud to share a complete list of all of this year’s 36 scholarship-winning Arkansas seniors. While this year has been unique, we know the future is bright for these incredibly talented students we are honored to support. A strong majority of Thea’s scholarships are endowed. A special thank you to the teachers that supported and encouraged these students along the way. ​For those that are, the name(s) or organization attributed with the endowment are listed above the scholarships. For students graduating in 2022, stay tuned for information regarding next year’s competition.

Visual Arts Winners

Thea Foundation Board Scholarship

Daye Kwon – 1st place, $4,000 (pictured above)

Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts

Windgate Foundation Scholarship

Caroline Gunderman – 2nd place, $3,500

Mount St. Mary Academy

Robyn Horn, Dede & Karen Hutcheson Scholarship

Katelyn Salmeron – 3rd place, $3,000

Van Buren High School

Erika Fredricks – 4th place, $2,500

Cabot High School

Robin Orsi Family Scholarship

Ally Loter – 5th place, $2,000

Greenbrier High School

Olds Foundation Scholarship

Jackie James – 6th place, $2,000

Bryant High School

Janet & Glenn Davis Scholarship

Hadley Hooper – 7th place, $2,000

Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts

Munro Foundation Scholarship

Avery Wall – 8th place, $2,000

Joe T. Robinson High School

Murphy USA Scholarship

Zaida Guzman Acha – 9th place, $2,000

Lakeside High School

Rita Curtis Memorial Scholarship

Takoya Marks – 10th place, $2,000

Arkansas School for Mathematics, Science, and the Arts

Performing Arts Winners

Clinton Family Foundation Scholarship

Mary McClellan – 1st Place, $4,000 (pictured above)

Pulaski Academy

Linda & Paul Leopoulos Scholarship

Jayna Glynn – 2nd place, $3,500

Bentonville High School

Hammonds/McDonald Scholarship

Will Porter – 3rd place, $3,000

Porterhouse Home School

Charles A. Frueauff Scholarship

Autumn Carson – 4th place, $2,500

Arkansas Arts Academy

Lawrence Hamilton Memorial Scholarship

Abigail Robertson- 5th place, $2,000

Hot Springs High School

Lindsey Robison East Memorial Scholarship

Shelby Cook- 6th place, $2,000

Huntsville High School

Charles Louis Cabe Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Tania Kelley- 7th place, $2,000

Little Rock Central High School

Heflin Family Foundation Scholarship

Makayla Shipe – 8th place, $2,000

Bryant High School

Wesley K. Clark, II Scholarship

Emmarie Wilson – 9th place, $2,000

Morrilton Senior High School

Robert T. & Elizabeth W. Seibert Scholarship

Cidney Gabbard – 10th place, $2,000

Conway High School

Spoken Word Winners

Jaden Wilber – 1st place, $4,000 (pictured above)

Episcopal Collegiate

Kasey Gonzalez – 2nd place, $3,500

Parkview Arts and Science Magnet

Victoria Nichols – 3rd place, $3,000

Nettleton High School

Isabella Herring – 4th place, $2,500

Bryant High School

Madison Popa – 5th place, $2,000

Fort Smith Southside High School

Creative Writing Winners

Elizabeth Wilkinson Scholarship

Muskaan Arshad – 1st place, $4,000 (pictured above)

Bentonville West High School

Dr. Ben Meade & Jane Hunt Scholarship

Madison Rotter – 2nd place, $3,500

Van Buren High School

Jack Clay – 3rd place, $3,000

Bryant High School

Anna Cay Vernon – 4th place, $2,500

Central High School

Hannah Henderson – 5th place, $2,000

Bryant High School

Fashion Design Winners

Jeanne McNeill Johansson Scholarship

Katie Castro – 1st place, $4,000 (pictured above on the left)

Parkview Arts and Science Magnet High School

Carter Collins – 2nd place, $3,500

Little Rock Central High School

Film Winners

Note: All film scholarship are placed at the same level, receiving the same amount in scholarship money. All four winners are pictured above.

Dorothy and Walter Morris Foundation Scholarship

Ananya Vangoor – 1st Runner Up – Cinematography, $2,500

Bentonville West HS

Kye-Yak International Scholarship

Samantha Lewandowski – Directing, $2,500

Har-Ber High School

Natalie and Win Rockefeller Scholarship

Grant Cunningham – Cinematography, $2,500

Conway Christian High School

Perry Horton – Editing, $2,500

Conway Christian High School

Thea Foundation would like to sincerely thank all of the professionals who served as this year’s judges for our competition season.